Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association - TBDML
Click here to view the printer friendly version.

Thunder Bay District Municipal League

The first meeting for the organization of the League was held in Fort William on April 27, 1917 and was known as the Fort William District League.
Membership to the League is open to all incorporated municipalities in and around the District of Thunder Bay and its present memberships include all the communities in the District as well as the Municipality of Hornepayne and the Township of White River in the District of Algoma.

The Board consists of one member of council from each of the member communities and meets bi-monthly.  There are two general membership meetings, the Annual which is held on the first weekend in March and a Fall meeting held in the month of October or November.

The Margaret S. Sideen Award for Political Studies was established by the League at Lakehead University in 1985 and an award is made to a student annually. Margaret Sideen served as a Councillor for the Municipality of Paipoonge and was a dedicated supporter of the League and NOMA.  Margaret served as President of the League for two terms, 1967-68 and 1973-74.

Visit the Thunder Bay District Municipal League website

Executive Members

President  - Mayor Rick Dumas, Town of Marathon
1st Vice President - Councillor Rodney Swarek, Township of White River
2nd Vice President - Reeve Wendy Wright, Township of Gilles
Past President  - Mayor Wendy Landry, Municipality of Shuniah
Executive Director - Nikita Cava


Member Municipalities

Township of Conmee
Township of Dorion
Township of Gillies

Municipality of Greenstone

Township of Hornepayne

Township of Manitowadge

Town of Marathon

Municipality of Neebing
Township of Nipigon
Township of O'Connor

Municipality of Oliver Paipoonge
Township of Red Rock
Township of Schreiber

Municipality of Shuniah
Township of Terrace Bay

Township of White River



Nikita Cava
Executive Director

Thunder Bay District Municipal League

Telephone no. (807) 621-4874



Other Municipalities

City of Thunder Bay

Town of Hearst


AGM and Annual Conference - Presentations


2023 - North Superior Planning Board Projects, Partnerships and Labour Market Programs 2022/2024 - CLICK HERE



City of Thunder Bay - Finance Department - CLICK HERE

North Shore Trails - CLICK HERE

Marathon Landfill - CLICK HERE

Winter Road Maintenance - CLICK HERE

Tourism Northern Ontario - CLICK HERE

Graciously supported by

Ontario Sencia Canada Ltd NOMA Logo

Partnered with

Northwestern Ontario Associated Chambers of Commerce Northwestern Ontario Development Network